Collegium augurum (Nova Roma)

From NovaRoma
Jump to: navigation, search


 Home| Latíné | Deutsch | Español | Français | Italiano | Magyar | Português | Română | Русский | English

State councils

·The People's Assembly·
Comitia Curiata
Comitia Centuriata
Comitia Populi Tributa
Comitia Plebis Tributa

The Senate

Collegium Pontificum
Collegium Augurum

· Judiciary court · Administrative court · Constitutional court ·

The Government
All institutions of our Republic

Nine augures are high priests assisting magistrates in taking the auspices and advising the Senate and the magistrates on various aspects of divination, not the least of which is the proper handling of prodigies and portents. They create templa, or sacred spaces.

The Collegium Augurum is the second highest ranking of the four major priestly colleges in Nova Roma, too; the president of the augural college is the magister collegii. The duties of the augures include taking auspices before military and political actions, before the holding of the comitia centuriata or the comitia populi tributa, consecrating the sites of temples and shrines, overseeing the laws of augury (Ius augurium — the discipline or art of augury itself) and advising the Senate.

Active Augures

150px}} Gaius Claudius Quadratus

Augur Magister Collegii

150px}} Gaius Tullius Valerianus Germanicus


150px}} Flavius Vedius Germanicus


(9 positions; 0 filled; 9 open (3 plebeian, 4 patrician))

Augures Emeriti

Powers and duties of the College of the Augurs

The College of Augurs is established by the Constitution of Nova Roma.

2. The Collegium Augurum (College of Augurs) shall be the second-highest ranked of the priestly Collegia. The eldest member of the Collegium shall be the Magister Collegii. The Collegium Augurum shall consist of nine Augurs, five from the Plebeian order and four from the Patrician order. They shall be appointed by the Collegium Pontificum, and shall hold their offices for life, excepting in cases of resignation of office, resignation of citizenship, or loss of Assiduus citizenship by process of law. Resignation of office or citizenship by an Augur must be made in writing to the Pontifex Maximus and the Magister Collegii; the Pontifex Maximus and Magister Collegii shall be informed in writing of any process of law by which such an Augur has lost citizenship. Augurs who have resigned their office, resigned their citizenship, or have lost their citizenship by process of law shall remain sacri in their persons but may exercise no augural powers or functions, nor shall they be accounted members of the Collegium Augurum.
a. The collegium augurum shall have the following honors, powers, and responsibilities:
1. To research, practice, and uphold the ars auguria (the art of interpreting divine signs and omens, solicited or otherwise);
2. To issue decreta (decrees) on matters of the ars auguria and its own internal procedures (such decreta may not be overruled by laws passed in the comitia or Senatus consultum).
b. Individual augurs shall have the following honors, powers, and responsibilities:
1. To define templum (sacred space) and celebrate auguria (the rites of augury);
2. To declare obnuntiatio (a declaration that unfavorable and unsolicited omens have been observed that justify a delay of a meeting of one of the comitia or the Senate).
Personal tools